Thursday, June 30, 2022
Text Size

Judges for 2020 Bi-District Contest


Brownwood, Howard Payne University
Dr. Nancy Jo Humfeld is professor emerita from Howard Payne University where she was the head of the Theatre Department for many years. She holds a bachelor's and two master's degrees from Texas A&M University-Commerce and a Ph.D. in theatre from Southern Illinois University. She has taught theatre at the university level for 33 years and in that time has directed over 100 plays, musicals and operas. She continues to perform professionally each year. Dr. Humfeld is also the Artistic Director of the Lyric Performing Arts Company. She was named the College/University Educator of the Year by TETA in 2004. She considers UIL OAP a wonderful opportunity to meet and work with high school students and hopefully give them encouragement to continue at a heightened level of performance. Dr. Humfeld enjoys the opportunity to reinforce the director's teaching as well.

Plano, Plano ISD Speech and Theatre Coordinator
Greg is a Bachelor of Arts Theatre graduate of West Texas A&M University and holds a Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Teacher Leadership. He serves as the Coordinator for Speech and Theatre for Plano ISD and was the Plano ISD Teacher of the Year for 2012. Greg has taught at the middle school, high school and sr. high school levels since 1993. He started a very successful local theatre camp for high school and middle school theatre students in Plano and serves on several arts organizations in the Dallas area. Greg's musical Curtains was chosen as the 2012 Dallas Summer Musicals High School Musical Awards Best Show, Best Technical Execution and garnered the Best Actor Award. With many successes in One-Act Play, he loves the process of reaching an audience through an artistic craft.

Fort Worth, Texas Wesleyan University
Joe Allen Brown is a Professor of Theatre Arts and Communication at Texas Wesleyan University, where he has taught for 42 years. Brown served for 16 years as the Dean of Freshmen and this year has returned to being a full-time faculty for the Wesleyan theatre arts program. Past positions he has served in at Wesleyan have been as Chair of Theatre (22 years) and Dean of the School of Fine Arts (7 years). Brown is the current president of the Live Theatre League of Tarrant County and has served as Design Chair for the Southwest Region of the American College Theatre Festival. In his service to Wesleyan and the Fort Worth Theatre community, Brown has received numerous awards for his teaching and contributions to Texas Wesleyan and the theatre community. Having been a OAP judge since 1982, in his critiques, Brown believes that every student and their theatre faculty should be appreciated for how valuable they are to the total production experience and the collaborative artistic effort that goes into a theatre production.


Lago Vista, Retired
Jerry Blake is a graduate of The University of Texas at Austin. She retired in June 2015, having served as the theatre director at Cedar Park High School for 16 years. During that time, she had UIL OAP qualifiers at every level, including State. In the summer of 2010, she was granted a scholarship to study in residency at the Globe Theatre in London. She has directed more than 120 High School productions in her career. She is artistic director at Cedar Park Theatre Company. Jerry is excited to continue to be involved in education as a contest manager, clinician, guest director and UIL OAP adjudicator.


Thespian Troupe #1966
Temple High School
Theatre Arts Department
415 South 31st Street
Temple, TX 76504

Natasha Tolleson
Office 254-215-7278

Theatre Instructor,
Lights & Sound
Kayla Stewart

YouTube (thespiansrus)

30 Years

Temple's UIL One-Act Play Team has been a District Champion for 30 years in a row (as of March 2022). No other UIL team at Temple High holds such a record.

Free Newsletter

Temple High Thespians

CLICK HERE to sign up

2020-2021 Highlights

Texas Thespians:
18 Students Advance to
International Competition

State Champion:
Thespian Team Tech Design

Three Films Advance in
UIL Film Contest

Five State Qualifiers
in UIL Theatrical Design;
Group Wins Bronze Medal

District Speech: 10 of 15
Advancers were from Temple,
Two District Team Champs

UIL One-Act Play Student Body
Advances to State Meet
(5th Time in the last 6 Meets)
Final 8 out of 249 schools

State 2nd Runner-Up, UIL
Theatre Team Champions

2019-2020 Highlights

Texas Thespian Convention
Six Events Advance to
International Competition

Named a Texas Thespian
Outstanding Troupe (1 of 6)

Named Texas Thespian
All-Star Troupe (1 of 23)

Second Place in Texas
Team Mask Making

Performed Marathon Play
Wilderness for 500 people

UIL One-Act Play Mac Beth
District Champion. Contests
after district were cancelled

2018-2019 Highlights

Mrs. Tolleson Named a
TETA Educator of the Year

Texas Thespian Convention
All 8 Events Advance to
International Competition

Team Mask Making

Team Set Design

Nominee, Texas Thespian
Troupe of the Year (1 of 6)

5th Place
Baby with the Bathwater

Texas UIL 6A State Finals
One-Act Play Competition
(Out of 254 schools)

5th Place in Texas, Div. 2
UIL Dramatic Design Group

2017-2018 Highlights

Texas Thespian Convention
All 10 Events Advance to
International Competition
(More than any other troupe)

Texas Thespian Performance
of Wonder of the World

Texas Thespian All-Star
Troupe (1 of 10 in Texas)

Nominee, Texas Thespian
Troupe of the Year (1 of 3)

4th Place On the Verge
Texas UIL 5A State Finals
One-Act Play Competition
(Out of over 250 schools)